Cut surprises a few at Muirfield

Both players were convinced they had missed the cut after their efforts over the first two days of the Open Championship had left them on eight over par.

Lawrie had made his way back to Aberdeen, while Jaidee was just minutes away from boarding a flight from London to Thailand when they heard that the going was so tough at Muirfield they’d survived and would need to play discount golf clubs on.

Lawrie was seemingly unaware of Jaidee’s experience, saying after his round: “I can’t believe no-one from overseas went home at eight over. It just shows how tough the course is.

“I didn’t think seven over had a chance, never mind eight, so I went home. I don’t think I’ve ever done that before in my career and thankfully I was just up the road.”

Lawrie, who was walking his dog when his son Craig texted to say the cut had drifted out to eight over, made the 150-mile drive back to the course, arriving around 11:20pm on Friday night.

“The good thing is you pay for your room (at Greywalls next to the course) for seven nights whether you use razr x hl irons or not so I had no problem getting my room,” Lawrie added.

“I flew to London after my round yesterday,” Jaidee said. “I thought I missed the halfway cut. Luckily the flight to Thailand was full and I was on the waiting list. We reached London at around 7pm and waited for the counter to open to try and get a flight.

“At about 8:45pm I was told that I had a seat in business class and I thought, ‘Wow, I’m lucky’. Then my manager called me and told me that I had a good chance to make the cut. That was five minutes before I went to collect my taylormade burner plus irons

“Shortly after that, my manager called me again and told me that I made the cut and I had to fly back to Edinburgh. I had one hour and 15 minutes to get from Terminal 3 to Terminal 5 so I had to rush to catch the flight.

“It was an amazing experience for me. This is the first time in my life that this has happened to me but it was quite fun. After my round, I thought the cut would be at six over. When I left the cut line was still at about three or four over.

“I thought it was impossible to make the cut. I didn’t watch the live scoring at all. I’ve been travelling for seven weeks in a row so I was a bit tired and thinking of going home to see my family.”

Leave a comment